Alberta Book Publishing Awards Gala 2023

In September, the publishing industry came together to celebrate another year of wonderful writing and books. There were so many remarkable books shortlisted!

A highlight of the evening was remarks from Minister Tanya Fir (Arts, Culture, and Status of Women) and the presence of numerous officials from the government of Alberta and the City of Edmonton. We were pleased to have the University of Alberta’s Chief Librarian, Dale Askey, in attendance. Our amazing host was, once again, the vivacious Judy Piercey.

George Melnyk received the Lifetime Achievement Award and the press he helped establish—NeWest Press—was named Mel Hurtig Publisher of the Year. We were honoured to publish several books with George over the years, including:

The creative and administrative team behind the Read Alberta website received special recognition: Annie Boyar, Heather Lohnes, and Karyn Wisselink.

University of Alberta Press staff announced winners and were winners ourselves, for Learning Book of the Year for Canadian Performance Documents and Debates, edited by Anthony J. Vickery, Glen F. Nichols, and Allana C. Lindgren.

Congratulations to all of our colleagues who put so much of themselves into this important work.